Facebook Twitter Flickr YouTube Google Maps E-mail

RECAP: M&J Auto Parts/AllFinish Concrete Night at RRVS

Published on July 25, 2016

By Mike Spieker

WEST FARGO, ND (July 24) – Last Friday night Red River Valley Speedway was back in action with a full show of IMCA Modifieds, Sport Mods, Hobby Stocks and INEX Legends. A great field of 70 cars among four divisions packed the pit area on hot and humid night of racing, presented by M&J Auto Parts and All Finish Concrete. Dave Shipley, Jesse Skalicky and Billy Carou took home the Speedway Motors IMCA Weekly Racing checkered flags, while Josh Julsrud picked up the INEX Legends win.

Feature racing commenced with the 13-car A Transmission City IMCA Hobby Stocks/Pure Stocks main event. Hometown driver, Torey Fischer, started on the pole with Kristen Nelson to her outside, but it was third place starter Tim Church who fought his way to the front to lead lap one. Church quickly had his hands full with the #22 of Wade Moerke as they battled door to door down the back stretch with 10 to go. Church held on to the top spot, but three laps later he was again challenged, this time by Tim Shiek.

Shiek took the lead with Billy Carou and Moerke in tow as the top three cars distanced themselves by a half lap over the rest of the field. With six to go, Carou made the race winning move as he took the lead away from Shiek exiting turn four. Carou went on to pick up yet another RRVS feature win as Moerke, Shiek, Brad Orvedal and Nelson rounded out the top five.

Dylan Johnson and Josh Julsrud led the field of 15 NDSCS INEX Legends to the green flag. Johnson got the jump as the green flag waved and took a commanding lead out of turn two, but he was quickly surpassed by third place starter, Jerrett Julsrud. Jerrett’s stint at the point was a short one also as Sean Johnson took over the lead with 13 circuits remaining. The next lead change was the final one of the event as Barnesville’s Josh Julsrud went door to door with Sean Johnson with 12 to go. The two leaders battled for a complete lap around the high-banked Red River Valley Speedway before Julsrud cleared for the lead out of turn four.

Julsrud went on to lead the rest of the race, but had his hands full in the closing stages as Andrew Jochim challenged for the lead. Just as he did the previous night at Norman County Raceway, Julsrud picked up the win; his first at RRVS.

For the second time this season, Jesse Skalicky parked his #3S IMCA Sport Mod in KRJB 106.5FM Victory Lane. Skalicky started 10th in the 15-car Eide Bailly feature, but quickly made his way through the field. By lap five the Fargo, ND driver was up to second as he passed early race leader, Matt Talley. Skalicky then set his sights on Tyler McDougall, who was looking for his first RRVS feature win.

Lapped traffic is where the race was won as Skalicky reeled in McDougall and shot into the lead with just three laps remaining. McDougall got hung up in traffic, which is all Skalicky needed to capitalize and claim his second win of the season at RRVS.

The Fredrikson & Byron (P.A.) IMCA Modifieds were 27 cars strong for their 25 lap main event. 2015 IMCA National Rookie of the Year, Rob VanMil, started on the pole with West Fargo’s Ryan Dahl to his outside. VanMil grabbed the lead on the opening lap as Dahl, Dave Shipley, Todd Carter, and Jason Strand filed in behind.

By lap seven the leaders were already in lapped traffic, which allowed Shipley to close in on VanMil. Shipley went to the low side of the speedway in his Dakota Cat #72, while VanMil utilized the high line. The two veteran drivers raced side by side for the lead for two laps before Shipley powered by down low to take the lead. VanMil battled back and was right on the heels of Shipley, but couldn’t muster up enough speed to regain the lead. Shipley went on to take the checkers and claim a spot in this year’s Dash at the Clash during the Harris Clash at Hamilton County Speedway in Marshalltown, IA.


IMCA Modifieds:

  1. Dave Shipley
  2. Rob VanMil
  3. Michael Greseth
  4. Michael Johnson
  5. Dev Malmlov
  6. Cale Arneson
  7. Billy Vogel
  8. Rusty Kollman
  9. Michael Griffin
  10. Ryan Dahl
  11. Rich Pavlicek
  12. Bob Banish Jr.
  13. Bryce Bjerken
  14. John Corell
  15. Jason Strand
  16. Jeff Odden
  17. Brennan Borg
  18. Cody Peterson
  19. Lenord Kneip
  20. Tailin Tommerdahl
  21. Chris Unrau
  22. Nick Curtis
  23. Jarrett Carter
  24. Tom Cummings
  25. Tyler Hall
  26. Todd Carter
  27. Jamie Schulz


IMCA Sport Mods:

  1. Jesse Skalicky
  2. Tyler McDougall
  3. Matt Talley
  4. Robby Rosselli
  5. Vince Jegtvig
  6. Taylor Grove
  7. Kelly Jacobson
  8. Chris VanMil
  9. Cody Fuller
  10. Mike Bruns
  11. Kraig Kasin
  12. Paul Colvin
  13. Dustin Hartwig
  14. Scott Jacobson
  15. Luke Johnson


INEX Legends:

  1. Josh Julsrud
  2. Andrew Jochim
  3. Tim Estenson
  4. Dylan Johnson
  5. Sean Johnson
  6. Dean Julsrud
  7. Casey Henriksen
  8. Drew Papke
  9. Kaitlyn Skalicky
  10. Brian Hanson
  11. Jarrett Julsrud
  12. Tony Brockhouse
  13. Brandon Erickson
  14. Shaun Erickson
  15. Tye Wilke


IMCA Hobby Stocks/Pure Stocks:

  1. Billy Carou
  2. Wade Moerke
  3. Tim Shiek
  4. Brad Orvedal
  5. Kristen Nelson
  6. Adam Goff
  7. Paul Colvin
  8. Taylor Saari
  9. Torey Fischer
  10. Tim Church
  11. Brandon Schmidt
  12. Kasey Ussatis
  13. Brennan Urbach