Facebook Twitter Flickr YouTube Google Maps E-mail

Jacobson Victorious On Meet & Greet Night

Published on June 14, 2016

By Mike Spieker

WEST FARGO, ND (June 10) – Night number four of the 2016 season at Red River Valley Speedway brought in a total of 69 cars and the largest crowd of the year.

The A Transmission City IMCA Hobby Stocks commenced feature action with 14 cars on the starting grid. The race began with three different leaders in three laps as Brad Orvedal took the point on the opening lap, but was quickly overtaken by the #5X of Dan Dowling. Brandon Schmidt then drove to the inside of Dowling exiting turn four and took the lead on lap three. Schmidt showed the way until the race was red flagged when two-time RRVS winner, Billy Carou, got up and into the front stretch catch fence and tore down approximately 25 feet of fencing.

The RRVS Track Crew was quick to the scene did a stellar job making an efficient repair so racing could be continued. Carou was unharmed in the incident.

The race resumed with Schmidt leading Dowling, but Tim Shiek and Kasey Ussatis quickly made their presence known up front. Ussatis snuck by Dowling with eight to go while the West Fargo, ND driver was chasing Schmidt for the lead. Dowling then went to battle with Shiek for the third spot as Ussatis began to reel in Schmidt.

With two laps remaining, Ussatis made his move and cleared Schmidt for the point and went on to take the win by four car lengths in front of Schmidt. Shiek got by Dowling to take third as Brennan Urbach rounded out the top five.

Scott Jacobson picked up a wild Eide Bailly IMCA Sport Mod feature win, coming from the fifth starting position. Jacobson took the lead on lap seven of the 16-lap race with a pass on Cody Fuller. Once out front, Jacobson didn’t have time to relax as he had his hands full with eighth place starter, Robby Rosselli. A caution with three to go put the Minot, ND driver right on the back bumper of Jacobson’s Northwest Auto Body #5.

As the green flew, Rosselli went to the high side and pulled even with Jacobson in turn three. They crossed the line and Rosselli was scored the leader, but on the following lap the two made contact which resulted in Jacobson spinning out. Rosselli was charged for the caution, however, and sent to the tail of the field.

From there Jacobson held off Luke Johnson and his son, Kelly, to take the win.

Tim Brockhouse was mired deep in the field to start the NDSCS INEX Legends feature, but it only took the veteran driver two laps to come from ninth to the lead. Reile Sailer led the field to the green and paced the pack around on the opening lap, but Brockhouse stole the spot while running the high side of turns three and four. Once out front, Brockhouse established a lead he would not relinquish and picked up his second RRVS win of the season by 1.268 seconds over Dean Julsrud. Dylan Johnson, Tim Estenson, and Sean Johnson rounded out the top five.

The Fredrikson & Byron IMCA Modifieds were 28 cars strong for their 25-lap main event. Dev Malmlov started outside the front row and took the lead over Michael Griffin as the green flag flew. Over the course of the first half of the race, Malmlov opened up a somewhat comfortable lead, but that diminished as he entered lapped traffic.

Michael Greseth was all over the rear bumper of Malmlov’s Performance Auto #21 ride with 10 laps to go and made the pass for the lead while battling in lapped traffic. Greseth then showed the way as Malmlov looked for a way to regain the lead, but was forced to deal with 12th-starting Austin Arneson and Dave Shipley.

With five to go, Arneson’s charge came to an end as he and John Nord, who was running fourth, both spun in turn three to bring out the caution. On the restart, Malmlov followed Greseth to the low side of the speedway in turn one. They came around to click off another lap when Greseth lost control of his Innovative Air #17 and spun to a stop. As a result, Greseth had to go to the tail of the field as Malmlov once again found himself at the point.

Malmlov got off to a great restart as he pulled out to a solid seven car length lead and took the win over Rob VanMil, who started 11th, Jeff Odden, Rusty Kollman, who started 15th, and Michael Johnson.

Racing continues next Friday night, presented by Magnum Contracting and Integrity Steel Supply. For complete event information, visit RedRiverValleySpeedway.com.


IMCA Modifieds:


  1. Dev Malmlov
  2. Rob VanMil
  3. Jeff Odden
  4. Rusty Kollman
  5. Michael Johnson
  6. Michael Griffin
  7. Cale Arneson
  8. Billy Vogel
  9. Jarrett Carter
  10. Brennan Borg
  11. Bob Banish Jr.
  12. Lance Schilling
  13. Mike Anderson
  14. Rich Pavlicek
  15. Tyler Hall
  16. Tailin Tommerdahl
  17. Nick Curtis
  18. Karmith Christensen
  19. Tom Cummings
  20. Austin Arneson
  21. Dave Shipley
  22. Rob Plath
  23. John Nord
  24. Todd Carter
  25. Michael Greseth
  26. Cody Peterson
  27. Greg Friestad
  28. Owen Siebert


IMCA Sport Mods:


  1. Scott Jacobson
  2. Luke Johnson
  3. Kelly Jacobson
  4. Aaron Wetterlin
  5. Jesse Skalicky
  6. Robby Rosselli
  7. Chris VanMil
  8. Cody Fuller
  9. Taylor Grove
  10. Kraig Kasin
  11. Matt Talley
  12. Dustin Hartwig
  13. Tyler McDougall


INEX Legends:


  1. Tim Brockhouse
  2. Dean Julsrud
  3. Dylan Johnson
  4. Tim Estenson
  5. Sean Johnson
  6. Josh Julsrud
  7. Kaitlyn Skalicky
  8. Tony Brockhouse
  9. Reile Sailer
  10. Brandon Erickson
  11. Jarret Julsrud
  12. Shaun Erickson
  13. Tye Wilke
  14. Grady Shearer


IMCA Hobby Stocks/Pure Stocks:


  1. Kasey Ussatis
  2. Brandon Schmidt
  3. Tim Shiek
  4. Dan Dowling
  5. Brennan Urbach
  6. Brad Orvedal
  7. Tim Church
  8. Maranda Borg
  9. Kristen Nelson
  10. Wade Moerke
  11. Dylan Heger
  12. Taylor Saari
  13. Billy Carou
  14. Shawn Orvedal