Facebook Twitter Flickr YouTube Google Maps E-mail

The NLRA rumble returns to Red River Valley Speedway tonight!

Published on August 23, 2017

By Mike Spieker

WEST FARGO, N.D. (August 23, 2017) – Tonight, Red River Valley Speedway plays host to the best Late Model drivers in the upper Midwest as the Northern Late Model Racing Association (NLRA) takes on the semi-banked three-eighths mile clay oval. The event, which is presented by The Forum, Bernie’s Wine & Liquor, Corwin Automotive, and Inland Truck Parts & Service, will mark the first and only appearance of the season by the 650+ horsepower, full bodied machines.

Four-time WISSOTA Late Model national champion, Ricky Weiss, will bring in a 68 point lead over three-time and defending NLRA champion, Brad Seng. Weiss, perhaps, is one of the drivers that brings in the most experience on Red River Valley Speedway’s three-eighths mile configuration. The Headingly, MB driver leads all drivers with four career wins on the smaller racing surface, dating back to 2010.

On the other side of the coin, Seng comes into the midweek special with the most momentum. The driver of the S&S Transport No. 12S is the latest winner on the NLRA tour after picking up the win on Saturday at Devils Lake Speedway. The win, which was his fourth of the season, propelled him past Dustin Strand in the points into second.

The NLRA had a pair of dates on the Red River Valley Speedway schedule in 2016 and saw two different winners park in KRJB 106.5FM Victory Lane. Hometown driver Cole Schill claimed the first win of the season in front of a large contingent of family, friends and fans after holding off Seng in the closing laps.

Strand won the second NLRA show in 2016 in a dominating performance in front of nearly 6,500 race fans during the Red River Valley Fair.

Schill won’t be the only hometown driver in the field. The event will also be a homecoming for West Fargo driver, Jeff Hapala. Hapala has also seen victory lane at Red River Valley Speedway’s three-eighths mile, with wins in 2010 and 2012 in the WISSOTA Super Stock division. Hapala also recorded a runner-up finish in the Super Stock points in 2012.

The third West Fargo driver joining the field this evening will be none other than eight-time and defending World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion, Donny Schatz. After claiming NLRA wins at Red River Co-op Speedway in Winnipeg and River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks last week, Schatz will be looking for his third win in as many races at the track he calls home.

Meet & Greet:

NLRA drivers Donny Schatz, Brad Seng, Dustin Strand and Cole Schill will be signing autographs, handing out driver cards, and taking pictures in front of the grandstands this evening from 6:00-6:30pm.

NLRA Notebook:

Previous NLRA Feature Winners at the Red River Valley Speedway:

2016 – Cole Schill on June 24; Dustin Strand on July 17

2012 – Marshall Fegers on May 5; Matt Aukland on June 20; Dustin Strand on August 25

2011 – Jake Redetzke on June 23; Corey Seckerson on August 17

2010 – Chad Becker on July 14

2009 – Brad Seng on June 20


Red River Valley Speedway Late Model Wins List on 3/8th Mile (2010-2017):

  1. Ricky Weiss: 4
  2. Dustin Strand: 3
  3. Cole Schill: 2
  4. Jeremy Keller: 2
  5. Cody Skytland: 2
  6. Matt Aukland: 2
  7. Mike Balcaen: 1
  8. Brad Seng 1
  9. Zach Johnson: 1
  10. Harold Schill: 1
  11. Chad Becker: 1
  12. Corey Seckerson: 1
  13. Jake Redetzke: 1
  14. Marshall Fegers: 1